Our Advisors

The Institute is honored to draw from the experience and wisdom of advisors who contribute to our work from across the globe, through academics, science, entrepreneurship, investment, and activism. This is a partial list of active participants.


Sara Boettiger, Founder and CEO of Global Access to Technology for Development and Professor, Agricultural and Resource Economics, UC Berkeley


Troy Duster, Chancellor’s Professor of Sociology and Senior Fellow, Warren Institute on Law and Social Policy, UC Berkeley


Harrison Fraker, Professor of Architecture and Urban Design, former Dean of the UC Berkeley College of Environmental Design


J. Keith Gilless, Dean, College of Natural Resources, UC Berkeley


Richard Heinberg, Senior Fellow, Post Carbon Institute


Henry Izumizaki, The Russell Family Foundation and Threshold Group


Daniel Kammen, Professor in the Energy and Resources Group Energy and Resources Group and Professor of Nuclear Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley.


Joel Makower, Chairman and Executive Editor, Green Biz Group


Manuel Maqueda, Founder, Plastic Pollution Coalition


Richard Norgaard, Professor, Energy and Resources Group, UC Berkeley


Crespin Pemberton-Pigott, New Dawn Engineering, Swaziland, South Africa


Bruce Pickering, Executive Director, Asia Society, Northern California


Vincent Siciliano, President, New Resource Bank


Jasminka Sohinger, Professor of European Studies, University of Zagreb


John Wilbanks, Senior Fellow, Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation


Lyuba Zarsky, Professor of Economics, Monterey Institute of International Studies


Jane Zhang, President of Silk Wings Aviation, Beijing; Board member, Pacific Environment